Skip to Content

Robert Langenfeld Compositions

Trumpet Concerto Consortium

August 25, 2022

I’m excited to announce a new consortium has been created for my first ever trumpet concerto! This piece has been something I’ve been wanting to write for a very long time. Before I was a euphonium player, I started my brass playing career on trumpet in the 5th grade. This piece is the trumpet concerto I would have wanted to write and play if I was still playing trumpet!

Back in December of 2021 I was introduced by Dr. Jon Sweet (Purdue University) to Dr. Steven Siegel (University of Wisconsin-Superior). They had met while attending the University of Kentucky. We talked about Steve’s incredible skills as a trumpet player and his passion for electronics. After a short discussion we all agreed to collaborate on a new trumpet concerto that would feature Steve with Jon conducting. Jon had previously led the consortium on “Phase Shift”.

The Idea:

Create a new modern addition to the solo trumpet repertoire that could be played with either concert band or piano. Along with this, optional electronics would be introduced that would work for both accompaniment versions.

The Plan:

15 minute work broken out into 3 movements. All 3 movements are designed to be played on different trumpets (Bb Piccolo Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Bb Trumpet). But they can all be played as Bb Trumpet as well.

Title and concept:

“Inner Workings”

  1. Fanfare for the Mind
  2. Soul’s Solitude
  3. Imagine Unbound

What makes a trumpet player tick? If we look past the facade, we see a being with incredible artistic skills and ability to create music. They are heralds, huntsmen, coordinators of battle, and entertainers. “Inner Workings” is a demonstration of the various aspects of the trumpet and its extended family. But more importantly, it’s a celebration of the human being that brings the brass to life.

Consortium Details:

  • $150 – Concert Band Accompaniment
  • $50 – Piano Accompaniment

Both versions are available for performance after the premiere in April 2023. 1 year exclusivity rights before being published to the public May 2024.

For more information and to sign up please see here:

If you have any questions about the piece or the consortium, feel free to reach out to me as well!

If you wish to participate in the piano accompaniment and want to pay by credit card you can do so here: